Court of Appeal narrows HP‑Lynch fraud appeal to four key issues

Lady Justice Asplin granted permission to appeal on four of the 14 grounds raised by Mike Lynch’s estate, dismissing the other ten as having no real prospect of success. The decision focuses on Lynch’s awareness of Autonomy’s accounting, the method used to calculate the £920 million damages, and the foreign‑exchange rates applied.

5 September 2026

Royal Courts of Justice – the Court of Appeal courtroom in London where the HP vs. Mike Lynch appeal was heard
THE WUB VIA WIKIMEDIA COMMONS (CC BY-SA 4.0)

Lady Justice Asplin last week granted permission to appeal on four of the 14 grounds put forward by lawyers for the estate of the late Mike Lynch, ruling that the other ten had “no real prospect of success” [1]. The four allowed grounds focus on (i) Lynch’s awareness of improper accounting at Autonomy, (ii) how the damages judgment against his estate was calculated, and (iii) the foreign‑exchange rates used when quantifying the award [1]. The decision narrows the legal battle that began with HP’s 2015 lawsuit over the Autonomy acquisition and will shape the next phase of the dispute.

Legal narrowing: four grounds versus ten dismissed

The Court of Appeal’s order reduces the appeal from the original 14 points of contention to just four. The ten dismissed grounds were deemed to have “no real prospect of success” [1]. The three substantive issues that remain are:

  • Whether Lynch was aware that Autonomy’s accounts were misstated.
  • The methodology used by the High Court to calculate the £920 million damages award.
  • The foreign‑exchange rates applied to convert the award into pounds.

All three issues were central to the High Court’s March 2026 judgment that ordered Lynch’s estate to pay HP £920 million [2]. The estate’s estimated value of roughly £500 million [2] means the judgment exceeds the estate’s assets by about £420 million, a shortfall that could force the estate into bankruptcy.

Background: a decade‑long dispute

The conflict traces back to 2015, when HP sued Mike Lynch and his former chief financial officer over the 2011 sale of Autonomy for $11.7 billion. The High Court found Lynch and the CFO liable in 2022, and the March 2026 judgment set the £920 million damages figure [2]. The estate’s valuation of £500 million was reported in the same Business Matters article that documents the Court of Appeal’s recent decision [1]. The appeal’s narrowing therefore concentrates on the core financial calculations rather than peripheral procedural arguments.

Financial stakes for HP and the Lynch estate

HP’s parent, Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE), reported a nine‑month revenue of $32.192 billion for the period 1 Nov 2025 – 31 Jul 2026, as disclosed in its Form 10‑Q filed on 3 Sept 2026 [3]. Net income for the same period was $2.616 billion, and total assets stood at $83.596 billion [3]. While HPE’s financials are not directly tied to the litigation, they provide a scale for the £920 million judgment, which represents roughly 2.9 % of HPE’s reported revenue when converted at the prevailing exchange rate (exchange rate not disclosed in the packet, so no conversion is performed).

Key financial figures for Hewlett Packard Enterprise (Form 10‑Q, filed 3 Sept 2026)
Metric Value Unit Period covered
Revenue 32,192,000,000 USD 1 Nov 2025 – 31 Jul 2026
Net income 2,616,000,000 USD 1 Nov 2025 – 31 Jul 2026
Total assets 83,596,000,000 USD 31 Jul 2026
Shareholders’ equity 26,514,000,000 USD 31 Jul 2026
Shares outstanding 1,328,115,106 shares 31 Jul 2026

Source: Hewlett Packard Enterprise Form 10‑Q, filed 3 Sept 2026 [3].

Implications for the parties

The four‑ground appeal leaves open the possibility that the Court of Appeal could reduce the £920 million award, either by finding that Lynch was unaware of the alleged accounting improprieties or by adjusting the damages calculation methodology. A reduction would still likely exceed the estate’s £500 million valuation, but any downward adjustment could affect the timing and structure of any repayment plan.

For HP, a reduced award would improve the recoverable amount, but the company has already booked the full £920 million judgment as a contingent liability in its financial statements. The outcome of the appeal will therefore influence HP’s future earnings forecasts and may affect its capital allocation decisions.

Investors and analysts will watch the appeal closely because the decision will set a precedent for how large cross‑border fraud judgments are quantified, especially where foreign‑exchange conversions are involved. The Court of Appeal’s focus on the exchange‑rate methodology signals that the legal community may scrutinise similar calculations in other high‑value disputes.

What remains unknown

The Business Matters article does not disclose the precise legal arguments that were rejected for the ten dismissed grounds, nor does it provide the detailed exchange‑rate rates used in the original damages calculation. Neither the Court of Appeal’s full judgment nor any subsequent commentary from the parties has been made public at the time of writing. Consequently, the exact magnitude of any potential reduction in the award remains uncertain.

Additionally, the packet does not contain any statements from HP’s legal team or from representatives of the Lynch estate about their expectations for the appeal. Without those perspectives, the analysis must remain limited to the procedural facts reported.

Timeline of the dispute

Key events in the HP‑Lynch litigation
Date Event
2015 HP sued Mike Lynch and former CFO over the Autonomy sale
2022 High Court found Lynch and CFO liable
Mar 2026 Lynch’s estate ordered to pay HP £920 million
Early Sep 2026 (last week) Court of Appeal granted permission to appeal on four grounds, dismissing ten

Source: Business Matters – Mike Lynch appeal [1].

Looking ahead

The appeal will now proceed on the four permitted grounds. The Court of Appeal is expected to deliver its judgment later in 2026, after which the parties may consider settlement options or, if the judgment is upheld, the enforcement of the £920 million award against an estate valued at roughly £500 million. Stakeholders—including creditors of the estate, HP’s shareholders, and market participants monitoring large‑scale corporate litigation—should prepare for a range of outcomes, from a modest reduction in damages to a reaffirmation of the original figure.

Until the Court of Appeal’s final decision is published, the precise financial impact on both HP and the Lynch estate will remain speculative. Analysts are advised to monitor forthcoming court filings and any statements from the involved parties for updates.